animals · Birds · Random

Been a busy year . . .

While I’ve actually been taking a lot of photos in the past year, they haven’t been arty flower or still life photos – it’s been all news, all the time, although I think I’ve made some news photos look pretty arty!

Today, the day after the first anniversary of my news site, The Broken Typewriter – which you can find on WordPress here or over on Substack here I thought I’d better pop over and update everyone.

The nuggets are almost a year old, and pooping out 20 plus eggs a day. And it turns out that Karen was not a Karen at all, but a Karl. Yep, he’s a rooster. He’s coming a little more into his own every day as protector and leader of the flock, and has even finally figured out how to get past all the ladies and actually get his share of the chicken snacks, when it’s treat time!

This is Barb – one of the three remaining Rhode Island Reds. She’s very chatty and friendly.

Just for fun, back in January, when we actually had a decent snowfall, a hungry young moose decided to hop the corral panels and feast upon my black currant bushes. It really didn’t want to leave. In fact, when we got her out of there, she just walked around the back of the garden to feast some more!

Noise is no deterrent when there’s yummy black currant bushes to be consumed!

As always, thanks for reading! I’ve got my eye on some bunches of tulips, plus I planted a whole pile of new bulbs in the fall, so hopefully there will be some floral beauty coming this way soon!! I got some new vases too, so I have BIG plans.

Leave a comment