Photography as art, the vision in my mind, captured by the camera.

Welcome to My New Photoblog

Welcome, welcome, welcome. Those of you who are familiar with my other blog, over on blogspot – thebrokentypewriter.blogspot.com will find that this one is vastly different. While I don’t dislike blogger, wordpress seems to be a little more photo-friendly. Either that, or I’m technically inept. Which is entirely possible.

Anyhow, this blog, is entirely devoted to my photography and me, as an artist.

That’s right, an artist. I am more than open to doing commercial work, and displaying/promoting it here, but my main focus at the moment is as an artist. I’ve spent the past decade taking pictures of the kids. And the dogs. Before that, I worked for local newspapers and regional magazines as a writer, photographer and editor. I loved the news, and some aspects of news photography, but now, in addition to recording our children’s lives, I want to focus more on the type and style of photography I love, that which inspired me to pick up a camera in the first place . . . Black & White Abstract Photography.

I have always loved the look of black & white photos . . . whether that is because I was born when black & white was still the norm, or because my Dad did his own developing, I don’t know. But I love the way black & white eliminates the distractions of colour, the way it brings out the textures, and the essence of the image. And the abstract part, well, since black & white is not “reality”, that’s the first “abstract” element to my photography. The second is the unique way I interpret what I see before me, and in the viewfinder. Take my header photo for example. I didn’t just take a picture of a rusty old truck – I had a vision in mind when I went out there, and I moved around, zoomed, changed the angles until I created the image I envisioned. It’s one of my favourite photos. Actually, I have many favourites.

Also, there is a certain amount of “photoshopping” in my photography. Lightrooming, actually. Again, my work is not meant to be a representation of reality, merely my interpretation of what I see.

I hope you will enjoy my work, as displayed here . . . and please respect it. It is my work, my vision, so don’t try to copy or steal my images. By all means, if you’re inspired by my work and it gives you ideas for your own photography, feel free to emulate it, but leave the images themselves alone. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

